Book Review | Radical Self Love by Gala Darling

So I had another blog post planned for tonight but instead, since finishing said book last week, I thought, Hey! Why not actually put your English Degree to good use and actually write a review. And Voila, here it is!

If you haven’t heard of Gala I’m pretty sure you’ve been living under a rock this past year. I first found Gala Darling around a few years ago, just left sixth form, perusing the web when I find an article on 100 things to do when you’re sad. (Don’t ask me why I or even how I found this, but just give the article a read!) I was hooked, Gala Darling is a wonderful writer, I subscribed to her newsletter and well the rest is history.

Fast forward to last year and Gala announced that she would self-publish a ‘radical self-love’ book (If you can’t tell by her website or even by the title of her book, Gala’s ‘focus’ as such is self-love, or should I say, Radical self-love). Basically, a few months after that she was offered the chance to publish the book under the love and guidance of Hay House publishers.

And Radical Self Love was published February 2016.

I pre-ordered it for my kindle. Due to living in a flat, getting books delivered is a bit of a pain, but hey, back to the book. Even reading it on a kindle or tablet, you wouldn’t be disappointed. If you haven’t already read it, I urge you to buy a copy and take a read.

The first thing you’ll notice is that Radical Self-Love is VERY pink. A great thing  about this is that it’ll definitely stand out in a bookstore! It’s a very pretty cover! Definitely one I’d pick up and read the blurb.

Secondly, there’s images and what I would call ‘doodle’s’ in the start of chapter pages which make reading the book even more enjoyable.

Hayhouse.co.uk

Now about the book, the book is first and foremost a ‘self-help’ book focusing on teaching or should I say helping, people to learn to love themselves. It’s a step up from her radical self-love diary course and daily blog posts and brings it all together.

There is a chapter dedicated just to sex – I mean come-on no one goes deeper than that! There’s also chapters on friends and lovers and of course a chapter on you and loving you!

And before you think, oh it’s a book for girls in their twenties, it’s really not. I think this book could be read by anyone, Gala doesn’t write for anyone, just herself. Anyone can read it and take something from this book. – it’s that well-written.

Overall, I loved this book. It was so easy to read and with the ‘homework’ set after each chapter, it gave you something to do instead of just reading through the book. It’s definitely worth reading it with a highlighter/pen or post-its notes.

Have you guys read this book? And what did you think? Let me know in the comments below.

Note: All Images are taken from the publishers website unless stated otherwise. 

One comment

  1. […] is a bright pink book, much like Radical Self Love by Gala Darling which I wrote about here. I love bright books, I find they stand out so much in bookstores and on bookshelves. It instantly […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

