Harry Potter Series Review | Years in the Making

So I had some time off from work a few months ago, before the summer really got here, and well, after a conversation in the office and being told I needed to get my butt in gear and actually finish the series, I did. In 3 weeks.

Having read the first book for my English Literature course in 2015, I decided to begin from the second book and set myself the target to read and finish the series before Harry Potter and the Cursed Child was released (as you can see, I did).

I wanted to create a blog post to sum up my ideas of the Harry Potter series, to find a starting point for my own thoughts and opinions on the series. I hope, eventually, to create a series where I have time to review the books separately and focus on the places, events and characters of the Harry Potter series.

To begin though, Harry Potter has been around for years and has grown into a somewhat, cult following. And I can see why. Many children have grown up with Harry Potter, seen him win and lose various trials he’s been up against. The great thing now, is that the younger generation can now have this opportunity. With the introduction of new covers and the illustrated books and colouring books and of course, the play and the new book, there is so much more that Harry Potter has to offer since he last hung up his wand on the 15th July 2011.

Overall, you can definitely see the growth that both the characters and J K Rowling went through, throughout the books. The sense of impending doom (unfortunately) seen from the third book and beyond.

The first is almost playful, with a sense of excitement. A new school year, a new adventure and a new set of friends. Add magic to the mix and you can forget the boundaries, children’s literature has no boundaries and that is what’s so magical about the Harry Potter series. There are so many things covered. For example, the loss of both parents, the punishments at school and well, don’t forget 3 young students fighting a troll in the girls bathroom – I mean you wouldn’t get that in other schools!

The second book is a tad more dark (notice that the series gets darker and darker as the books go on) and we have the introduction of yet more characters! The second book is full of creepy crawleys, especially snakes and he-who-must-not-be-named makes a returned appearance.

The third is where we meet Sirius and the dementors. Again, you can notice how dark the book gets, with the impending doom for both Sirius and Buckbeak. And Hermiones punch, well, who would have thought Hermione had a violent side?

The fourth book is where death seems to seep into the pages. The fourth book is the first LARGE book and focuses on the event of the Goblet of fire. We are also introduced to more wizarding schools and again, new characters.

The fifth book is where we see the beginning of Dumledores Army and the training of young wizards (led by Harry). We’re also introduced to Professor Umbridge (Boo!) and her means of punishment and rules…

The sixth book is what I would call, the beginning of the end. We’re nearing the end of Harry’s years at Hogwarts and again, a new character arises, The Half-Blood prince. I have to admit I hate the ending, it’s really sad, but I guess you can argue that J K Rowling doesn’t sugarcoat the whole thing and as children grow up reading the series, as do the characters.

The seventh and final book, split into two movies, is the summing up of the series. The search of the horcruxes and the ever-longing need to defeat Voldemort (yes, we can say his name now).The first half of the book is more of the searching for these horcruxes  and Ron, Hermione and Harry’s search for these (always together). These fearsome trio have a bunch of tricks up their sleeves for the fight against Voldemort.

We are also prized with an Epilogue at the end of the seventh book, an introduction to the next generation of Potters and possibly the start of the next set of stories?

As mentioned before in this post, J K Rowling doesn’t sugarcoat the whole thing, with fighting comes death and there’s always the whole good vs evil thing going on. But she introduces children to these themes with the help of Magic, and the death by spells. It’s all rather fantastical.

What’s your favourite part of the series and do you enjoy one of the books more then the other?  Leave me a comment below.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: