Girl out of Water | Making a Wave this Summer

This review was meant to be posted around the same time as the Swimming finals at the Olympics, but as you can tell, that didn’t happen.

Moving on though, Girl out of Water is the funniest thing I’ve read so far this year. It’s that good, I read it in a day! Yes, literally. I started it about 1pm on Sunday and finished about 9pm that evening. I know I’m quite a fast reader but I seriously couldn’t put this book down, it had me hook, line and sinker from the first chapter.

Following the story of Lou Brown, Girl out of Water is her story to fame. As the coach of three unruly boys, she helps train them and turn them into stars. After much persuasion though, since her water career unfortunately took a literally flop. Read more in the book!

Take a look at the blurb and see what you think!

Stars in her eyes, water in her ears, boys on her nerves… Lou Brown is out of her depth.
A thoroughly British teen comedy starring a hilariously flawed heroine with a quip for every occasion – perfect for fans of Holly Smale, Holly Bourne, Caitlin Moran and Sophie Kinsella. Lou Brown’s life is going down the pan. Best friend Hannah sailed through the Olympic time trials and is off to her fancy-pants new swim training school, while Lou’s own failure to qualify leaves her without a hobby – or a friend. As Lou tries to navigate her post-swim world, a chance encounter with three boys with stars in their eyes takes her life in a surprising new direction. One that leads to a crazy world of underwater somersaults, talent show auditions, bitchy girls and one great big load of awkward boy chat.

 

Readers can totally relate with Lou and her quirky demeanor. And young teens will understand her completely, even adult readers will be transported back to their high school days!

Basically, the book has a kind of weird and wacky vibe going on, I won’t spoil it, but Lou teaches the three boys how to do underwater dancing, as such. It’s a fun and humorous read, that will have you cringing and laughing the entire way through.

Kinda makes you want to don your swimming costume and dive right in! Although underwater shape making is not needed!

I am totally in love with this book! See below for my not so subtle gushing:

2016-08-27

 

I strongly recommend this to everyone! It’s such a funny book that is bound to have you in stitches!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: