A Boy Made of Blocks | Building Bridges since 2016

This book made me laugh, cry and think throughout! This was on my TBR list and I’m so happy to be reviewing it. It’s nice to see it from a husbands point of view, and you can’t help but feel the pain experienced by Sam and his parents. And we all love a happy ending now don’t we?

I initially read this book on my kindle and have now received a hard back copy of this book.

Let’s start with the cover. I recently spoke about the cover in my blog post about different covers here, but I love the fact that the blocks on the front cover are embossed. It adds depth to the book (could just be me), but it means the blocks stand out as they would if they were say, Lego.

The paragraph in italics at the top of this blog post was my initial reaction and review of reading this book, and nothing has changed. I found this book funny, sad and in some places, the story really makes you think. Having studied (somewhat very loosely) around disabilities and encouraging children to take part with their peers, this book shows how something as simple as a video game can truly bring children out of their shell.

Writing from experience, Keith Stuart uses his point of view, the husband and father, as the basis of the story. Personally, I haven’t really read a story from the dad’s point of view, and it adds a refreshing new perspective to the literary world. It also adds another loud voice to disabilities and children with disabilities.

Just to warn you, the ending might make you cry. It did me. I was smiling and crying at the same time, it’s that sort of book. You really feel the pain that both Sam and his parents go through and how they move forward.

I urge you to pick this book up and give it a read, if you haven’t already! This book is beautifully written and has a beautiful story line and will make you laugh, cry and think throughout, even before you reach the ending.

2 comments

  1. […] out my blog post here and have a peep around my archives for a few of my favourites; Cecelia Ahern, Keith Stuart and Joanne […]

    Like

  2. […] originally posted this blog post here, but am re-posting it for A Boy Made of Blocks blog […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

