Of all the trees we could’ve hit, we had to get one that hits back! | Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets | Review

As some of you may know, or release by now, this month (October) is Harry Potter month on my blog. Partly because of the run up to Halloween, you know where people dress up as witches and wizards and all other forms of things/people, and also, because in June I whizzed through and read books 2 – 7 (I’d read the first book in my final year of uni).

If you haven’t read my review for the first book, check it out here. Please note, this review may contain spoilers.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets follows Harry’s second year at Hogwarts. The Dark Arts teacher has been replaced (again), by Professor Lockhart, award for best actor awaits this one! We are also further introduced to the youngest Weasley child and only daughter, Ginny, who made a small appearance in the first book, but now is in her first year at Hogwarts.

After ‘defeating’ Voldemort in the first book, he is back, although not how you would imagine. After finding a seemingly ‘harmless’ book, Ginny is thrust into Harry’s world of madness and ‘the chamber is opened. We are introduced to Tom Riddle, magic diaries and huge snakes, lurking in Hogwarts sewers.

Note: don’t read this book if you don’t like snakes. Seriously. Or big snakes. Whilst reading the final few chapters, I spent most of it with one hand over my eyes, don’t ask me how I did it but I did. But hey, gotta love Fawkes though right? Dumbledore’s right-hand man (I mean, bird).

We’re also introduced to everyone’s favourite Elf, Dobby and his warnings to a ‘Mr Potter, Sir’. And of course, the Whomping Willow, which starts the 2nd year of Hogwarts off to a mischievous and wondrous year. There is a reason under-aged wizards aren’t allow to drive cars which can fly, and now we know why!

Let me know what you’re favourite part of the second book in the series is below in the comments, and stay tuned for my next Harry Potter themed blog post, due to be released Friday!

6 comments

  1. […] haven’t checked out my review for the second review, posted Tuesday, you can check it out here. Please note, this review may contain […]

    Like

  2. […] it out here and if you haven’t checked out my review for the second review, you can check it out here. My review for the third book went up Friday, and you can check it out here. Please note, this […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

