Picking a Favourite… if it’s possible | Harry Potter Series

When I first starting watching/reading Harry Potter, I was pretty sure who my favourite was. However, now? Not so much.

To begin with, my favourite was, of course, Hermione Granger. (N.B: This was during primary school FYI) Hermione was this smart young girl, fighting her way through the world of magic. So as well as being brainy, she was a book worm – something which I’ve always felt I am! So of course, I felt like I resonated more with her than any other character. She was also played by Emma Watson! (I wrote a post about her EN speech here!)

As the series went on, and I grew up, my favourites either began to change or I couldn’t pick between them.

From the third book in the series (review done earlier this week), I like Professor Remus Lupin. During sixth form, I dressed up as him (mustache and all) for Halloween. I think this was when I’d started reading Twilight (yes, I too was ‘one of those girls’) and I just loved the somewhat shy and helpful character, keeping an eye out for Harry and able to put Snape ‘in his place’.

After reading the fourth and fifth series, my new found favourite was Sirius Black. Firstly, by the fifth book, I felt sorry for him, being held up in number twelve Grimmauld Place with Kreecher. Secondly, he was a part of the Marauders club, much like Remus, and he was Harry’s Godfather, you could tell that he cared for Harry. I guess you could argue that yes, I liked the actors that played both Remus Lupin and Sirius Black, (David Thewlis and Gary Oldman respectively) not gonna lie there. But both their characters I loved for their characters and ways they protected and fought for and with Harry.

Finally, after reading the final books and seeing Maggie Smith play her in the films, Professor Minerva McGonagall became a firm favorite. This teacher was totally badass and a wise witch that could put anyone in their place, even Voldemort! She can also transform into a cat! As well as teaching transfiguration at Hogwarts, she was Head of Griffindor House and honorary Head Master. What a Lady!

Obviously, I don’t think I’ll ever be able to pick a favourite and it’s interesting to see that over the years, my favourites have changed, depending where I am in my life and what situations I’m going through.

Leave me a comment below and let me know who you’re favourite character is in the series, or even actor who plays them in the movies. And don’t forget to follow me either on here or my twitter page, to keep updated on my Harry Potter month!

Leave a Reply

