Taking a Walk on the Dark Side | My Least Favourite Harry Potter Character

 

To check out my reviews for the previous four books in the series, please click below:

Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Please note, this review may contain some spoilers.

If you read my review for the fifth book (please see above), you would see me go on a little rant about a certain character. So it comes as no surprise that my least favourite character in the Harry Potter series is, Professor Umbridge.

Yes, okay, so there’s Lord Voldemort, but at least he doesn’t pretend to like you. *Yuck*

First off, can I say that, Imelda Staunton, that plays the character in the film, does a pretty top-notch job. Because as soon as I finished watching the movie, my skin crawled. Professor Umbridge was/is a mean old Hag, and her form of punishments (basically writing over and over onto your hand!) should have definitely been left in the dark ages.

She also came across as a bit of a know-it-all and no-one could disagree with her. Definitely someone I’d hate to meet. She was a part of the Ministry, who chose to ignore the return of Voldemort and, to be quite honest is one of the WORST Defence Against the Dark Arts teacher.

Another person which I think we all loved to hate was Professor Snape, especially in the first few books. He seemed a really grumpy teacher and seemed to have it in for Harry, just because of his father. However, over the course of the books, we learn more about Snape and his past with Harry’s parents and grow to love the stubborn old fool!

Let me know what you’re least favourite character in the series is below in the comments, and stay tuned for my next Harry Potter themed blog post, due to be published next Tuesday!

 

Leave a Reply

