A Door That Never Closes | Reading Harry Potter as an Adult

I have to admit something here, I never read Harry Potter as a kid. I know, I know, shock horror! Don’t get me wrong, I watched the movies, though they’re never the same as the actual book. (N.b. I received the first movie as a Christmas present, on VIDEO!)

I loved Harry Potter though, but didn’t like the size of the books, they were pretty daunting for a ten-year-old. However, I read the first book in my final year of university and then, with a push from some work colleagues, I read the final six books in about a month before my birthday this July just gone.

To remind you, I spent this month (October) blogging about various Harry Potter themes; reviews of all seven books, various information regarding characters and both favourite and least favourite characters. All blog posts are under ‘Harry Potter Month’ if you want to check them out!

Reading Harry Potter as a child, I feel, allows you to understand the stories differently. You can definitely tell the difference between the first and final books and, as mentioned in my reviews, the final few books have a slightly darker undertone and theme.

Of course, J. K. Rowling doesn’t shy away from the hard theme of death and, in this case, murder. And although the book is primarily aimed at children, it makes sense that the Harry Potter series is both a firm favourite for children, young adults and adults.

The fact that there is now more books and a play, as well as the introduction of illustrated books and updates in covers, means that this book is firmly placed in history and will continue to be loved by many over the years, both my children and adults.

The Harry Potter series has been known to bring comfort to many and the escape into a different world for others, and I myself, love to dive deep into the pages and lose myself for a few hours.

“Whether you come back by page or by the big screen, Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home.” – J. K. Rowling

Leave a Reply

