Foodie Post | Veggie Comfort Food | Review

So if you guys follow my instagram (if you don’t, you really should!) I’ve posted a few ‘veggie’ pictures. Now, let me get one thing straight. I’m not a vegetarian. I guess you could say I’m more of a budding vegetarian, but with how things are now, it’s easier that I’m not.

Anyways, National Trust/Pavillion Books were nice to sending me this cookbook to test out a few of the recipes.

Now what you might not know, is I like to cook. But I’m one of these people that looks at a recipe maybe once, and then continues to cook my way. More often than not, and to the surprise of others, it actually doesn’t turn out that bad. (I feel shocked to say that they doubt me so! But that’s another story for another time.)

So, when writing the meal plan for this weekend, I endeavored to add a few recipes from the book. Although the first thing that caught my eye was the chocolate chip and peanut butter cookies… I hate having a sweet tooth!

In the end, we decided on:

  • Sweetcorn Chowder
  • Chickpea and Vegetable Korma
  • Polenta, Olive and Tomato Bake

I also want to make the peanut butter and chocolate chip cookies very soon! Possible Christmas presents?

What I loved about the cookbook was that, although, yes it was a vegetarian cookbook, many of the recipes could have ingredients added or changed in order to suit various different tastes. This is of course, a problem for some budding chefs with various different diets and allergies as such, so finding a cookbook with such versatile recipes is a bonus!

The cookbook is divided into Mains, Soups (my favourite!), Salads (perfect for summer) and sweets (another favourite of many).

It’s a wonderful, colourful cookbook, which adds to the National Trusts collection of well-made and well-loved cookbooks and with photos to make your mouth water, it makes a change to having meat every day, even for those so against it (Dad I’m looking at you!)

What’s your go-to cookbook? Let me know in the comments below!

One comment

  1. […] reviewed the National Trust veggie cookbook here, but the best thing about this cookbook is you can add meat and fish to the meals if you want to. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

