It’s Christmas | My Top 5 Christmas Songs (Plus Bonus Songs)

This was originally posted last year, but as it’s Christmas time, I’ve brought it back to this year and added a few bonus songs to the list! 
So since yesterday I really got into the Christmas mood, which is always a good thing, getting this close to Christmas.
I spent most of Friday, at work, reading manuscripts, editing and amending and listening to a Christmas cd on YouTube.
If you think about it there are a bunch of Christmas songs and recently there are some new Christmas songs that are coming out of the woodwork. However, from my list below, you will see that I mainly focus on the oldies. Just the way I was brought up, I guess.
So without further ado, here’s my list for my top 5 Christmas Songs.
5. Band Aid – Do They Know It’s Christmas Time? (Feed The World) – 1984
This is the original, which I much prefer to the newer ones. Obviously, there’s the underlying or perhaps main theme that is the cause and raising money for charity. But this is one of the first Christmas songs I remember from when I was younger. (Although I used to think they were saying ‘Free the World’ from some strange reason.)
4. Wizzard – I Wish It Could Be Christmas – 1973
Another oldie. Yes, there is a running occurrence for this list. But aside from the creepy voice at the start of the song, this song is one to get you off your feet and dancing the Mince Pies off in the living room.
 
3. East 17 – Stay Another Day – 1994
A slightly newer song on my list of Christmas songs. This song is a slower song, but since the 2012 has been a firm favourite of mine. It’s rather peaceful and the guys have rather amazing voices.
2. Slade – Merry Christmas Everyone – 1973
Another well-known Christmas song from the 70s. Another dancing tune for Christmas. No explanation needed.
1. The Pogues Feat. Kirsty MacColl – Faiytale of New York – 1987
My personal favourite. I know a few people aren’t so keen on this but I love it! I know all the words to this and sing along to it every time it’s on the radio!
BONUS ROUND!!
Colplay – Christmas Lights – 2008
My mum loves this song and it is a firm favourite at her place around Christmas time, so needed to be added to the list.
The Waitresses – Christmas Wrapping – 1982
This song is a new favourite of mine, after being on a recent Christmas CD of mine, this song is not a ‘normal’ Christmas song, but is a laughable song to dance to!
So that concludes my list of my Top 5 Christmas songs. Although, going through the list I have found a bunch more that could be included. As mentioned, personally I prefer the older Christmas songs to the newer ones, but Christmas is such a great time for singing and dancing and generally being merry.
So to all of you I wish you a Merry Christmas and hope you have an enjoyable holiday. Enjoy the time with your family and friends (not just the presents), enjoy the food and music and generally just enjoy yourselves.
Leave a Reply

