The Budding Writer | Martini Henry | A Review

This hilarious book, written by Sara Crowe, and is her first book, published last year in June 2016.

Blurb

Life isn’t an exact science. Things can be troublesome. Like pregnant step-mothers, the ins-and-outs of French existentialism . . . having an unexceptional name.

In 1988, seventeen-year-old Sue Bowl has a diary, big dreams and £4.73. What she wants most of all is to make it as a writer, as well as stop her decadent aunt Coral spending money she doesn’t have.

Living in their crumbling ancestral home should provide plenty of inspiration, but between falling in love, hunting for missing heirlooms and internship applications, things keep getting in the way.

So when a young literary professor moves in and catches Sue’s eye, life begins to take an unexpected turn . . .

From the author of Campari for Breakfast, a witty and enchanting novel about what happens after you think you’ve grown up and fallen in love, perfect for fans of I Capture the Castle, Love, Nina and Where’d You Go Bernadette.

At first, the difference in writing throughout the book had me slightly confused, especially upon reading after work or late in the evenings, but as soon as you’re ‘swallowed’ in by the book, it makes for a great read!

Sue Bowl is a wannabe writer. 18-years-old and after finishing her writing course abroad, she’s hungry for an internship at the local paper while she’s working on her dissertation.

At the same time she’s reading a book titled For the Concern of the Rich and Poor, as there are links with Green Place, the mansion she lives in with her aunt and various lodgers. But things don’t go to plan and she has to gain some much-needed income elsewhere.

You don’t realise until you start reading the book, that it is a book of two halves. Sue is the main protagonist as we read her diary entries and various other forms of writing, including excerpts from the book she’s reading, but we are also involved with and reading the life of London Taylor’s rags to riches journey, which Sue uncovers.

London’s part of the book is really interesting and I enjoyed reading bit-by-bit, what happens and what he does, it makes an interesting read when Sue is living in the same place he did, a few good years ago.

There is an interesting twist at the end and of course, a coming-of-age tales, both for London and for Sue. It’s not always a comedy read, as I thought it would be, but it was an interesting and compelling read, especially when twists and turns were made throughout the two different stories.

An  interesting books for those who loves funny books and history, all rolled into one. And also a great read for those not already read this book, it will make you sit and think, especially if you love history.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: