World Book Day 2017 | A Book Lovers Favourite Time of The Year

I actually missed this last year, I was so miffed and working in publishing at the time, I felt it was a good excuse to dress up.

That never happened.

This year, I thought I’d write a blog post.

It’s also the 20th anniversary of the first world book day, so be sure to celebrate, book lovers!

World Book Day was never something that I really remember during school. I remember the week before, being told it was a non-school uniform day and that we could dress up as our favourite book characters, and more often that not, and due to ‘forgetting’, I was usually dressing up as Hermione Granger from the Harry Potter series.

I think maybe this time, I’d make more of an effort.

Some characters you could dress up as:

Someone from a series – The Hunger Games, The Mortal Instruments, Miss Peregrine’s home for peculiar children, etc, etc.

Horrid Henry?

Pippi Longstocking?

Where’s Wally? (I see so many people choose to dress up as this guy, it’s no longer Where’s Wally but where is there a non-wally?)

Mathilde?

Alice in Wonderland?

The Hunger Caterpillar?

Willy Wonka?

An Oompa Loompa?

Basically, pick your favourite character and go for it!

Admittedly, don’t do what I normally do and forget about it. I’m sure young kids (and eve grown ups) would love to dress up as their favourite character from a book, if only for a day.

Do you celebrate World Book Day and dress up for the day? Let me know in the comments below and be sure to follow #WorldBookDay20 on twitter 🙂

 

One thought on “World Book Day 2017 | A Book Lovers Favourite Time of The Year

Leave a comment