How’d it get up there? | Written in Bones | A Review

I can’t believe how quickly April is going! Can you?

Spring is finally here, the weather is certainly getting warmer and Summer is right around the corner.

Perfect for a crime/mystery book right?

Blurb

When a body is found in a tree in The Meadows, Edinburgh’s scenic parkland, the forensics suggest the corpse has fallen from a great height.

Detective Inspector Tony McLean wonders whether it was an accident, or a murder designed to send a chilling message?

The dead man had led quite a life: a disgraced ex-cop turned criminal kingpin who reinvented himself as a celebrated philanthropist.

As McLean traces the victim’s journey, it takes him back to Edinburgh’s past, and through its underworld – crossing paths with some of its most dangerous and most vulnerable people.

And waiting at the end of it all, is the truth behind a crime that cuts to the very heart of the city…

Netgalley Review

An interesting and well thought out read, was not expecting the ending but was a really good book and I’d recommend it to lovers of crime fiction. It’s also nice that would can read this book without having to read any of the others, you don’t need to know the background of the story.

I initially requested this book because of the cover, yes I’ve already said that I’m a bit of a cover hoard, check out my blog post here if you don’t believe me.

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m really interested in crime/mystery books at the moment and this book seemed right up my street, I did also read the blurb before I requested the book, so yeah.

I liked the fact that this is another book where you don’t have to necessarily read the start on the series before reading this book, you don’t have to know any of the background because readers get filled in as the get further into the book.

The ending is a bit of a cliff hanger but the book is really interesting and a well thought out read.

I’d recommend this book to lovers of crime fiction and detective books.

As always, let me know in the comments below if you’ve read this book (or any in the series) and what you thought of it and again, if you haven’t read this book, please do check it out.

 

Leave a Reply

