Warning… This Book Will Make You Cry | The Kicking the Bucket List | A Review

Another day, another blog post.

How’s your week going guys? Can you believe it’s going to be May next week?! I sure can’t!

Today I’m reviewing The Kicking The Bucket List – have you got some tissues ready?

Blurb

Mum always knows best…
The stunning debut for fans of Celia Imrie and Dawn French.

Meet the daughters of Iris Parker. Dee; sensitive and big-hearted; Rose uptight and controlled and Fleur the reckless free spirit.
At the reading of their mother’s will, the three estranged women are aghast to discover that their inheritance comes with strings attached. If they are to inherit her wealth, they must spend a series of weekends together over the course of a year and carry out their mother’s ‘bucket list’.

But one year doesn’t seem like nearly enough time for them to move past the decades-old layers of squabbles and misunderstandings. Can they grow up for once and see that Iris’ bucket list was about so much more than money…

Netgalley Review

This book made me cry a little and it also hit a nerve, that we don’t know how long we have and why should we hold on to grudges, especially among family. I loved the characters and the ‘adventures’ they have.

Put your hand up if you’ve had or currently have a bucket list?

There’s bound to be a bunch of us, myself included. I spent a few years writing a bucket list at around 11.59 p.m. about what I wanted to achieve in that year before my next birthday – and to be honest, I never used to do them or completely forgot about them a few weeks later. Oops!

It’s a wonderful book and it’s sure to make you think. It’s regarding a mothers dying wish (or should I say list) of bringing her three daughters back together after her death.

The things on her list may make you laugh and some will make you think, there’s definitely some thought behind these items. The mini ‘adventures’ these characters have along the way is both funny and sad at times.

As mentioned above, in my Netgalley review, the book also hit a nerve, that we don’t know how long we have and why should we hold on to grudges, especially among family.

It may convince you to dust off your bucket list and get ticking, or to sit down one day and make your own.

One message it definitely leaves is the whole ‘you never know which day will be your last, so live it to the fullest’.

As always, let me know in the comments below if you’ve read this book and what you think of it, and if you haven’t be sure to check it out!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: