Ghosts are everywhere | The Doll Funeral | A Review

I hope you guys are having a wonderful Sunday, the weather seems to be finally picking up and the sun is shining – yay!

Today I’m reviewing The Doll Funeral by Kate Harmer, which I was lucky enough to read a hardback copy of from the team at Faber.

Blurb

My name is Ruby. I live with Barbara and Mick. They’re not my real parents, but they tell me what to do, and what to say. I’m supposed to say that the bruises on my arms and the black eye came from falling down the stairs.

But there are things I won’t say. I won’t tell them I’m going to hunt for my real parents. I don’t say a word about Shadow, who sits on the stairs, or the Wasp Lady I saw on the way to bed.

I did tell Mick that I saw the woman in the buttercup dress, hanging upside down from her seat belt deep in the forest at the back of our house. I told him I saw death crawl out of her. He said he’d give me a medal for lying.

I wasn’t lying. I’m a hunter for lost souls and I’m going to be with my real family. And I’m not going to let Mick stop me.

I really enjoyed this book (yes, I realise I say that about a bunch of other books, but it’s true!) and found it a quick and easy read.

Ruby is a really interesting character and Shadow is the fun, yet annoying little brother which elder siblings will understand.

The story is really interesting and I love how Ruby and her mum’s stories run side by side. Obviously there’s a rather sad theme in the book with young pregnancy, abuse, death, but there’s a happy ending so it’s all good.

Would recommend this book to lovers or mystery, or to all really, so get it on your TBR pile. The cover is also pretty amazing and the hardback is rather cute, if I do say so myself.

As always, let me know in the comments below if you’ve read The Doll Funeral and what you thought, and if you haven’t, be sure to pick it up and give it a read!

Leave a Reply

