Travelling with the Current | Sea | A Review

A later review today guys, I think summer as finally hit the UK, with a bit of a heat-wave, something which us red-heads (or me definitely) do not like! So I’ve taken to hibernating indoors with the fan on. Does mean I can catch up on my reading though!

Today I’m reviewing yet another Netgalley proof, the book Sea by Sarah Driver, the first in the Huntress series.

Blurb

In the sky, the fire spirits dance and ripple. Grandma says they showed our Tribe that I’d be a captain, before I was even born.

Ever since Ma died, Mouse has looked after her little brother, Sparrow, dreaming of her destiny as captain of the Huntress. But now Da’s missing, Sparrow is in danger, and a deathly cold is creeping across Trianukka . . .

Sea-churning, beast-chattering, dream-dancing, whale-riding, terrodyl-flying, world-saving adventure. The first book in a stunning new fantasy adventure trilogy, perfect for readers aged 9+ and fans of Philip Pullman, Piers Torday, Abi Elphinstone, Katherine Rundell and Frances Hardinge.

NetGalley Review

A great start to the series! And I can’t wait to read more. The characters were awesome and as was the story and the idea. Reminds me, kind of, of a sea shanty/pirate thing and I love it!

As mentioned above, I feel that Sea is a perfect start to the series. I found it super interesting and the cliff-hanger at the end made me want to continue reading – which is always a good thing!

One reason I was really interested about this book was, of course, the cover. It’s an absolutely gorgeous cover, with some gorgeous huey blues and greens, mirroring the ever-changing colour of the sea.

I did mention above that this story reminds me of a sea shanty/pirate story and that’s totally cool! I love Sparrow’s character and the world she lives in and the story sounds like it’s just getting started!

Perfect for lovers of YA and fantastical worlds, a quick read for those reading slumps and a pretty cover to print off and frame!

As always, let me know in the comments below if you’ve read Sea and what you thought of it and if not, please do add it to your TBR. The second book, will be out September this year!

One comment

  1. […] really enjoyed reading the first in the series, as you can see here, and Sky was no […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

