#HarryPotter20 | 20 years and still going strong

I completely forgot about Harry Potter and the amazing milestone that would be reached today. It’s all over Twitter, and book lovers and publishers and booksellers alike are gathered celebrating all things Hogwarts.

Truly amazing.

Last October I wrote about all things Harry Potter, so I’ve already covered a lot of ground, see link above to see all blog posts from that month.

The Harry Potter series is something that has been around for most of my childhood. I was given the first Harry Potter movie on video as a young child and that sparked the interest.

Initially, it was the films that drew me in, but as I grew up, I felt that I was seriously missing out on all the details in the books, so that’s what I did.

I’m a fast reader, but in 6 weeks, and just before my birthday (literally, I finished the final book the night before my birthday), I read the series on my Kindle.

I kinda can’t believe that it’s 20 years! Let’s see… twenty years ago, I would have been coming up to my 3rd birthday, so probably didn’t have a clue about this whole Harry Potter malarkey.

I think it was Primary School where I was first introduced to Harry Potter, I’d received the first movie on video – showing my age a bit here – and proceeded to watch every movie after that. It wasn’t until high school that I bought (and tried to get into) Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince, something which, at the time, I did not succeed in.

I had some time off last year and was ‘told’ that I just ‘had to read the series, especially before my birthday’, so that’s what I did. And I thoroughly enjoyed it!

As I mentioned, I wrote a whole bunch of Harry Potter blog posts last October, so please do check them out!

And let me know in the comments below if you’ve read Harry Potter and when? Were you a kid, a teenager, an adult? And what were your favourite parts? Or have you watched the movies? As always, let me know in the comments below!

 

 

Leave a Reply

