Humour me | The Management Style of the Supreme Beings | A Review

Hola guys! It’s muggy here and I’m debating about whether it’s cold enough to have a cup of tea – thoughts?

Anyways, today I’m reviewing The Management Style of the Supreme Beings by Tom Holt, a surprise book post I was sent by the guys at Orbit books – thanks guys!

Blurb

When the Supreme Being and his son decide that being supreme isn’t for them any more, it’s inevitable that things get a bit of a shake-up.

It soon becomes apparent that our new owners, the Venturi brothers, have a very different perspective on all sorts of things. Take Good and Evil, for example. For them, it’s an outdated concept that never worked particularly well in the first place.

Unfortunately, the sudden disappearance of right and wrong, while welcomed by some, raises certain concerns amongst those still attached to the previous team’s management style.

In particular, there’s one of the old gods who didn’t move out with the others. A reclusive chap, he lives somewhere up north, and only a handful even believe in him.

But he’s watching. And he really does need to know if you’ve been naughty or nice.

I wasn’t sure what to expect when this book arrived on my door step, I’m just gonna put it out here and say that I’m not really religious. I’ve studied Religious Education all the way through GCSE and A Level but wouldn’t really say I’m religious. I do enjoy learning about new religions though!

Anyways, this book isn’t really religious. More so, it turns religious onto it’s head, kinda.

So basically the big man has sold the business (Earth) and the new guys want you to know that they’re there and they want to charge you for EVERYTHING! Sounds intriguing right?

Santa also makes an appearance, but he’s not what you’d think.

This all makes for a rather hilarious story about the ‘management’ of Earth and who’s wrong and who’s right. I mean Santa as a bad guy? Who knew?!

As always, let me know in the comments below if you’ve read the book and if so, what you thought of it. AND if not, let me know if you’ll be adding this to your TBR!

 

 

Leave a Reply

