Healing | Eat, Pray, Love | A Review

Hi guys, a late review I’m afraid, I’ve been catching up with all things #YALC on Twitter and completely forgot the time!

Today I’m reviewing an older book – Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert.

Blurb

Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat Pray Love touched the world and changed countless lives, inspiring and empowering millions of readers to search for their own best selves. Now, this beloved and iconic book returns in a beautiful 10th anniversary edition, complete with an updated introduction from the author, to launch a whole new generation of fans. 

In her early thirties, Elizabeth Gilbert had everything a modern American woman was supposed to want—husband, country home, successful career—but instead of feeling happy and fulfilled, she was consumed by panic and confusion. This wise and rapturous book is the story of how she left behind all these outward marks of success, and set out to explore three different aspects of her nature, against the backdrop of three different cultures: pleasure in Italy, devotion in India, and on the Indonesian island of Bali, a balance between worldly enjoyment and divine transcendence.

I found this book in a charity shop with the movie cover – I’d seen a trailer for the movie and was really intrigued – it sounded awesome!

I read this book pretty much in one sitting, I could not put it down! It was a book that I needed at the time, something to sooth my solve and remind me that things can get better.

It’s definitely a book I would read again and again. It’s a book with many lessons and quotes that can be used time and time again. Times in need, times when you need a little nudge in the right direction.

Like chicken soup for the soul. I’d recommend this to all, but especially to those that feel a little lost and in need of guidance, it reminds us that we are not alone.

As always, let me know in the comments below if you’ve read the book and what you thought of it. Or if you haven’t, will you be adding it to your TBR?

Leave a Reply

