The Light at the End of the Tunnel | This Beautiful Life | A Review

The Big ‘C’. Many of our lives are hit by this; our friends, family, even us. But now more so, there’s a light at the end of the tunnel and this book writes about that.

Set after the catastrophe that Big C can bring, this tells the story of what happens after and how it’s not such a well-laid out plan after all.

Blurb

The addictive and emotive new novel from Katie Marsh, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Jodi Picoult.

‘I lived over half my life before I met you both, and I hope with all my heart to live many years more. You two are the reason why. Always, always the reason why.’

Abi Cooper is living her happy ending. She’s in remission and is ready to make the most of her second chance. But during Abi’s illness her family has fallen apart. Her husband John has made decisions that are about to come back to haunt him, while her teenage son Seb is battling with a secret of his own.

Set to the songs on Abi’s survival playlist, This Beautiful Life is the moving and uplifting story of what happens as Abi tries to put her family back together – and of why life, and love, are worth fighting for.

Netgalley Review

This book made me cry. It was a wonderful read, full of gut-wrenching real-life heartbreak. There’s a few notes of happiness in this book which is great but the ending is awful – because it’s a cliff-hanger and I really want to know what happens!

Star Rating – 3 Stars

Let’s just get the most important bit outta the way first. This book will make you cry. And if it doesn’t? Well there’s nothing wrong with not crying at a book – honest!

As mentioned above, the book is about the aftermath of being given the ‘all-clear’ from Cancer. Because, I mean, what is there to do once you’ve had the biggest battle of your life and where do you go from there? For Abi, it’s finding out that all is not what it seems and moving back in with your parents with your husband and kid.

Through the book we see Abi deal with all the little ‘behind the scenes’ stuff that she missed out on, or wasn’t told about, whilst she was in the boxing ring with ‘Big C’. We see what her family have been going through and what Abi decides to do once she’s got control of her life – it’s a very inspiring book!

It also ends on a horrible cliff-hanger – so much so that I’d love to know what happens next and hope that there is a happy ending for this wonderful character. I can dream right?

So be warned, read this book with a box of tissues. But although this book was full of gut-wrenching real-life heartbreak, it was a wonderful read that will have you get your butt off the sofa and do a few things you wanna do.

As always, let me know in the comments below if you’ve read the book and what you thought of it. And if you haven’t, will you be adding it to your TBR?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s