We Can’t Always Get What We Want | Social Creature | A Review

Next on the backlog reviews is a thriller that is sure to shock. A thriller about social media and the danger of what could happen in the modern age, when you’d kill to be liked.

Today I’m reviewing Social Creature by Tara Isabella Burton, a Netgalley review.

Blurb

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Donna Tartt, a dark, propulsive and addictive debut thriller, splashed with all the glitz and glitter of New York City.

They go through both bottles of champagne right there on the High Line, with nothing but the stars over them… They drink and Lavinia tells Louise about all the places they will go together, when they finish their stories, when they are both great writers-to Paris and to Rome and to Trieste…

Lavinia will never go. She is going to die soon.

Louise has nothing. Lavinia has everything. After a chance encounter, the two spiral into an intimate, intense, and possibly toxic friendship. A Talented Mr. Ripley for the digital age, this seductive story takes a classic tale of obsession and makes it irresistibly new.

Netgalley Review

Wasn’t quite sure what to expect from this but it sounded very interesting. Made me really think about social media and the dangers of it. Very much a book with a shock factor.

Star Rating3.5 Stars

Another read that I wasn’t sure about finishing (I really must get into the habit of not finishing books when I don’t enjoy them), this book was another read that I found hard to finish. Predominately because of what was written, not how it was written, it was shocking and made me feel slightly uneasy. Who knows, maybe my tastes are changing?

Anyways, the story revolves around Louise who becomes friends with Lavinia after a chance encounter. And thus ensues madness. That’s possibly the best way to describe it.

It’s the kind of book that you want to put down, but want to continue reading anyways, wanting to know what’s going to happen. The tension in the book just keeps building until something snaps, and then we’re left shocked and wondering how it ended like it did. (Although, I guess it was only to be expected)

If you enjoy reading books that leave you shocked and questioning everything then do give this a read, but this story won’t leave you once you turn the last page.

As always, let me know in the comments below if you’ve given this book a read and what you thought. And if you haven’t, will you be adding it to your TBR pile?

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s